Asean Plus Three Emergency Rice Reserve 

 On 21 February 2023, the APTERR Secretariat representatives led by Dr. Choomjet Karnjanakesorn, General Manager, accompanied by Mr. Toshiki Tojo, Japanese Expert, and APTERR staff attended the Birthday Celebration of His Majesty the Emperor of Japan hosted by the Embassy of Japan in Thailand. The celebration was held at Plenary Hall, Queen Sirikit National Convention Center (QSNCC). In this special occasion, Dr. Karnjanakesorn expressed his gratitude and rejoicing to be invited to attend the celebration to H.E. Mr. NASHIDA Kazuya, the ambassador of Japan to Thailand.


This year will mark the 136th anniversary of the relation between Thailand and Japan, which are both the APTERR member countries who also have been greatly contributing to the APTERR activities. In this regard, the APTERR Secretariat would like to extend our sincerest congratulations to His Majesty the Emperor of Japan on his 63rd birthday. 


Furthermore, Dr. Karnjanakesorn took this great opportunity to introduce the APTERR organisation and its mechanisms to other guests of honor coming from both public and private organisations, especially those who involved in agricultural sector, food security, and humanitarian assistance in order to promote APTERR’s role as the important organisation for strengthening food security in ASEAN Plus Three (APT) region and achieving Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).



H.E. Mr. NASHIDA Kazuya, the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Japan to the Kingdom of Thailand





 H.E. Dr. Jaranthada Karnasuta, the current Privy Councillor and the former Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives (2007-2009)





H.E. Mr. Don Pramudvinai, the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Thailand





Mr. Chadchart Sittipunt, the Governor of Bangkok





Mr. Thanatip Upatising, the former Ambassador of Thailand to Japan, and his spouse, Mrs. Monthip Upatising





Mr. Jumpon Phansumit, Deputy Attorney General of Thailand, Office of the Attorney General (OAG), Thailand





Mr. Sihasak Phuangketkeow, Special Advisor, Foreign Affairs of The Eastern Economic Corridor Office of Thailand, and the former Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Thailand, and the former Ambassador of Thailand to Japan





Mr. Supachai Somchareon, the current Second Vice-President of the Senate, and the former Chairman of the Election Commission of Thailand





Mrs. Ureerat Chareontoh, Director-General of Thailand International Cooperation Agency (TICA), Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Thailand





Mr. Sanan Angubolkul, Chairman of the Thai Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Phongthep Thepkanjana, the former Deputy Prime Minister of Thailand (2012-2014)

Mrs. Panida Thepkanjana, the Director and Chairman of the Management Development and Compensation Committee, the Erawan Group





Mrs. Patricia Mongkhonvanit, Director General of the Public Debt Management Office (PDMO), Ministry of Finance, Thailand





Police Lieutenant General Monthon Ngernwattana, the Vice President of JICA Alumni Association of Thailand (JAAT)





Mr. Aaron Brownell, the Director of the Regional Environment Office (REO), U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)





Mr. Sakchai Pattarapreechakul, Chief Executive Officer of Queen Sirikit National Convention Center (QSNCC)