Asean Plus Three Emergency Rice Reserve 

General Manager of APTERR Secretariat Dr. Choomjet Karnjanakesorn, on 10 April 2024, was invited to be a keynote speaker at the ‘Regional Breakout Session: Strengthening Food Information Sharing Among the Central Asia Economic Cooperation Program (CAREC) Member Countries’, which was a part of the ‘Asia and the Pacific: Food Security Forum 2024’ hosted by the Asian Development Bank (ADB) to share experiences on an establishment of APTERR as a regional emergency rice reserve in strengthening food security.


Amid current global uncertainty, many countries surge to join hands in establishing an APTERR-inspired cooperation to ensure food security. GM Karnjanakesorn thus shared a brief background of APTERR before driving into the importance elements and organisation structures led to a successful building APTERR as one only ASEAN Plus Three’s regional permanent rice reserve. At the end of session, participants actively engaged in fruitful discussions and exchanged views and experiences trying to determine the most suitable and preferred formality for their own regional.



CAREC members are Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Pakistan, P.R. China, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.