Asean Plus Three Emergency Rice Reserve 


Being able to promote environmental sustainability at the same time with providing rice assistance to disaster-affected people is considered as enormous benefits for both member countries and the APTERR activities. The APTERR Secretariat, therefore, enthusiastically supports the Republic of Korea (ROK)’s Upcycled Project’ implemented in Myanmar.


With regard to this, on 27 October 2020 Mr. Chanpithya Shimphalee, General Manager of the APTERR Secretariat, attended a virtual ceremony for the upcycled bag contribution to Myanmar organised by the Korea Agro-Fisheries Trade Corporation (aT), the implementational body of food assistance under the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (MAFRA) of the ROK.  Representatives from the Korea aT led by Mr. Kiwoo Lee, Executive Vice President, and the Department of Agriculture, Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, and Irrigation of Myanmar led by Mr. Aye Ko Ko, Deputy Director General were also present in this significant ceremony.


To avoid causing negative impacts on the global environment, the ROK amazingly turns the countless number of Poly-Propylene bags, which were used as rice containers in the APTERR programme and could not be decomposed or degraded by biological process, to high quality and multipurpose upcycled bags and will distribute to disaster-affected people in Myanmar as a thoughtful gift to light up their life in the time of adversity. This project also brings the APTERR Secretariat to approach the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).  


Currently, the APTERR Secretariat is releasing 600 MT of rice contributed by the ROK through the prepositioned stockpiled rice system under Tier 3 to assist Myanmar in combating food insecurity due to impacts of unprecedented COVID-19 pandemic. The ROK has been taking a constructive role in support the APTERR activities, especially the implementation of Tier 3 programme. As of now, the country has already contributed 17,000 MT of rice to the Tier 3 programme, which 2,900 MT were allocated to Myanmar.